Wk13 – Art Experience – Art Care Package

This weeks art experience was too send and art care package to someone. The name I pulled out of the hat was Tiffany Van Gilder. I wasn’t sure what to put in the package because I do collect tickets stubs but I like to keep them for my own memories and I’m very sentimental about them and couldn’t bear to part with them. Instead I decided to go with a sketch. However, mine wasn’t really a sketch so much as it was a “Zentangle”. The purpose of the Zen tangle is to draw a random squiggly line with loops all around the paper in pencil and then in marker you draw different patterns with in each of those borders. When you’re finished do you erase the pencil wine and you’re left with just the patterns yet you can somehow still see the line because of the borders that each pattern makes with another.

In my opinion the art care package does not relate to Snapchat at all because you’re sending it to someone and they have the power to keep it forever, whereas for Snapchat it disappears after certain amount of seconds. As for ephemera, I do believe that it is special in a certain type of way. They hold memories within them whether it’s a ticket to a movie or the last concert your favorite band ever plays together. I would have loved it if my parents kept their old concert tickets from when they were young. It would’ve been a great way to catch a glimpse of the past. 

Leave a Reply

