Wk14 – Art Experience – Sketching in the Garden

I really enjoyed this weeks art experience for many reasons. The first reason is because I had not before been to the botanical gardens here at CSULB, though I had been wanting to I just never found the time and chose to do school work during my breaks instead. This art experience pretty much forced me to go to the gardens while also being productive about it.

Another reason I loved this art experience was because of the act of actually drawing. I draw a lot in my free time, in fact I don’t think there’s a page of notes in my notebook that doesn’t have doodles in the margins. So this activity was very easy for me. I did, however, have trouble deciphering between abstract and representational drawings and photographs. But then it hit me.

I have always been a fan of pointillism and often draw images without actually drawing so much as just putting a bunch of dots on paper in order to create these images. So for my abstract drawings I simply picked a specific subject (koi fish,sand pattern, lily pad)and created an image for it using the “pointillism” technique.

For one of my abstract photos I went up to the bonsai trees and angled my camera upwards so that it looked like I was standing under huge life-sized trees. For the others I looked at an entire subject and then focused in on one specific part of that subject.  

    
    
   
    
    
   

Leave a Reply

